Attention Seniors: Picture Day is coming!  Lifetouch will be here to take senior portraits on Monday, September 23 in the auditorium during your English class.  Boys may wear their own shirt and tie or one provided by Lifetouch under a graduation gown. Girls will wear the graduation gown with no collar.  You will hold your cap, so style your hair appropriately.

A Wiley College representative will visit with Captain Shreve students on September 24 at 1:00 pm in the conference room.  Sign up in the book at the front desk if you would like to attend.

The Black Studies Association is accepting new members.  This service and educational club is open to all students.  Please see Mrs. Hunt in MH04 or Mr. Hudson in MH01 for an information sheet to join the club.  The deadline for joining is Monday, September 30.

Hey Gators! Join Project Challenge at our Sign Up Event Wednesday, September 25, during both lunch shifts.  Challenges begin October 1! Work through as many challenges on as many days as you can. Earn points, win prizes, learn valuable information and change your world!  See Ms. Douglas or any science club member for more information.

Calling all singers, dancers, and actors!  Drama Club will have auditions for our season on September 24 and 25.  You must audition to be considered for a role in the spring musical. Sign up for an audition time outside of Room A210, and see Mrs. Mangham if you have questions!

Happy September, Gators!  This month, let’s be Gators for Good by bringing tuna and peanut butter to support the Food Bank of Northwest Louisiana.  Peanut butter and tuna are both high-protein ingredients that provide necessary nutrition. Their long shelf-life also makes them a great donation for a food drive! Let’s be Gators for Good by giving our community a helping hand.  Bring your donations to MH09 or MH12 by September 26.

CALLING ALL FRESHMAN GATORS!!! Get ready to step out in style with your date or group of friends and enjoy a memorable dining experience for Homecoming.  Chomp-N-Swamp is a freshman homecoming tradition. $60 will cover the cost of dinner and a chartered shuttle to the dance. Please come to the office to pick up your form.  Deadline to turn in your form and money is Friday, September 27. Note: Homecoming dance tickets should be purchased separately.

The softball team will have it's second annual Corn Hole Fundraiser Tournament on Saturday, September 28.  It will be played on the tennis courts from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon. There will be two people per team and the cost is $20 a team.  Please be there by 8:45 to register. If you have any questions, please see Coach Fant.

Interested juniors and seniors, mark your calendars.  The ASVAB will be administered on Wednesday, October 2, in the auditorium.  It will begin at 8:30 and will take approximately 3 hours to complete. There is no fee to take this test.  Results can help you evaluate aptitude, estimate performance in academics and on the ACT, and identify possible careers that you may not have considered. Sign up in the front office.

Gators, Homecoming 2019 is Saturday, October 5.  All non-Shreve dates must be approved by Mr. Silvie. You have until Friday, September 27, to sign up non-Shreve dates in Mr. Silvie’s office. Dates must be in high school (grades 9-12) or no more than one year out of high school.  All students and guests must show a current picture ID to enter the dance. If you have questions, see Mr. Silvie.

Juniors and seniors who are interested in applying for the Captain Shreve chapter of the National English Honor Society, the Swamp-Side Scholars, should see Ms. Reeser in room A214. The deadline for applications is October 15.

Attention all Gators:  Captain Shreve is proud to announce its annual offering of the On Track ACT Prep Boot Camp December 7 from 9:00-12:00.  If you are registered for the December 14 administration of the ACT, this is an amazing opportunity for students to get help from certified instructors to boost those ACT scores at a reduced rate of $80.  For more information, registration and payment contact junior counselor, Mrs. Sella.

Download the Captain Shreve App now to get the CSHS calendar, JPams, and your digital student ID!

Get information on colleges, universities, and available scholarships from the Guidance menu at

A Houston Baptist University representative will visit with Captain Shreve students on October 9 at 2:00 pm in the conference room. Sign up in the book at the front desk if you would like to attend. 

Ms. Elora Allison from SMU will be at Captain Shreve Monday, October 21 at 1pm to visit with interested seniors. Sign up in the college visit binder at the front desk if you're interested!

A Rhodes College representative will visit with Captain Shreve students on October 22 at 8:30 am in the conference room.

All new members of Mu Alpha Theta will meet in Room A112 on Thursday, September 26, at 7:45 in Room A112.  Please be on time.

The Math Club is offering peer tutoring on Tuesday mornings again this year.  If you need a little help with your math class, the Math Club is here for you.  Come to room A112 on Tuesday mornings from 7:45-8:15. Bring your math work with you and get help from some of Captain Shreve's best math students.

The Writing Center is now open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 to 4:45. We will be there to help you at any stage of your writing process. This applies to any writing assignments in any class. Please bring the guidelines for the assignments with you.